top of page

FREE Dress Pattern | Perfect DIY Date Night Dress for Valentine's Day! | DIY Cottagecore Dress




I cannot even begin to explain the love I have for this dress! it turned out so much nicer than I even imagined and just know I'm going to get SO much wear out of this dress, not only for Valentine's Day but even for future hot holiday dinners!


It was so, so simple to make and I highly recommend anyone who is a beginner to try this.


If you are a complete beginner, I would probably recommend that you make this with a stiffer fabric such as cotton if you haven't used jersey much, however you will need to increase the circumference sizing somewhat to cater for this and add in a longer zipper to keep some shape and also be able to get in and out of it!


It's also a very good project to learn some new techniques, such as how to gather fabric and how to calculate the measurements needed for a 180 degree peplum frill, as well as hemming a curved jersey edge!


So enough quirky bits to keep you challenged and on your toes!


The silhouette to also just stunning. The Wass the peplum started mid thigh, it enhances an hourglass effect, while the ruffle sleeves give height and structure to the shoulders.


The fabric was annoyingly a remnant. I really wanted to get more of this as its such a soft and comfortable fabric, however I do have one meter left! If you have any ideas what I could make from this amount and would look goof with this fabric, I would love to know! Leave a comment down below!


I've come across a couple of gorgeous fabrics that I am super tempted to make this dress with aswell. This gorgeous scuba fabric and also this floral jersey fabric. I also think this would look gorgeous even in a plain red fabric.





I go into quite some detail on my YouTube video on the measurements and how I make this dress. I also give tips of taking body measurement when you are measuring yourself.


If you try making this dress, I would love to see your version of it and what you thought of it! Join our lovely community here by entering your email address down below to receive monthly emails or by joining myself and fellow sewists via the Member Area, where you can show the photos of your makes.


Until next time, Happy Sewing!



Lots of Love,


Shirin xo

Comments


bottom of page